Is Tarte Shape Tape Concealer Worth the Hype?

Okay guys, product review time!  About a month and a half ago, I got my hands on the ever so coveted Tarte Shape Tape concealer. I picked up the shade fair neutral which is the second lightest shade (fair is the lightest shade but I have more neutral undertones so I prefer to stick to products that also have neutral undertones). They started out with six shades and expanded that to 10 and just recently added even more of a shade selection. I ordered it online from Ulta and it was $24.

20161206_154947.png

When I received my Ulta order I was shocked at how big the tube was. It’s not your run of the mill skinny tube of concealer. This thing is huge and the doe foot applicator is massive too! I have never seen anything like it. The shade was a nice fit (but I might try Fair next time I get it because I feel like Tarte never quite has shades pale enough for me) and the product offered an impressive full coverage. It was creamy and blended out like a dream. A little product goes a long way and my tube has lasted me almost two months and is still going strong! Overall, I really do like this concealer and will probably continue to use it.

*I would like to note that I haven’t been wearing makeup every day but the days I do, I use concealer.

Now, I understand why it is raved about because I really like it, but I do not think it is worth all the hype. It still creases under my eyes like every other concealer I’ve ever tried. I do think that if you are in the market for a new concealer and you can get your hands on your shade, it is worth trying but it wasn’t a life changing product for me. Like I said, I will be repurchasing the product. However, I will probably use it in conjunction with my holy grail Urban Decay Naked Skin concealer. I am also intrigued by the Too Faced Born This Way concealer  (that came out at the same time as Shape Tape and has largely been overlooked) and might be trying that in the near future as well.

Overall, it provides good coverage and is creamy and blends out well but it is not the best/most amazing thing I’ve ever put on my face (for that you should check out Tarte’s Double Duty Beauty Hybrid Gel Foundation because thay stuff is freaking life changing).

*both images used are from the Tarte website

http://tartecosmetics.com/tarte-item-shape-tape-contour-concealer 

If you want me to review more products or have anything specific you would like to see me review, let me know in the comments below! 

Much Love,

ChristyKeys

DONT FORGET TO FOLLOW MY BLOG TO SEE MORE!

 

 

 

One thought on “Is Tarte Shape Tape Concealer Worth the Hype?

Leave a Reply

