Apple Cinnamon Crepes

Okay to start this off I have to disclose that these are not actually crepes. That’s just what I call them. They are more like thin pancakes. I fill them with brown sugar and cinnamon cooked apples and drizzle caramel on top. You can use whatever filling or topping your heart desires, I just like apples. It’s like apple pie in breakfast form (not that pie isn’t in breakfast form because after Thanksgiving I definitely eat apple pie for breakfast).

WHAT YOU NEED

1. Apples

2. Brown sugar

3. Cinnamon

4. Butter/coconut oil/non-stick spray

5. Pancake mix and whatever it calls for to make it. In my case it was eggs and milk.

6. Caramel (optional)

HOW TO MAKE THESE CREPES

There are 2 main components to making these crepes. First, you have your filling and then you have the actual crepes. To make the filling I peeled and cut up 2 large granny smith apples. I was making enough for 2 people so if you are feeding more people you will need more apples. You also have to take into account that the apples cook down a little bit so it might look like you have a lot initially but in the end it’s not that much, I promise.

Snapchat-5814485614268506571

Next in a medium/large pan I take the apples and about 1/3 cup of brown sugar and  a sprinkle of cinnamon and I let this “cook” on a medium to medium-low heat while I make the crepes. Just be sure to stir occasionally to get all the apples cooked evenly. I like to keep this over heat for 10-15 minutes because I like my apples to be kind of soft. If you prefer them more firm then you really just need this mixture over heat for 5-10 minutes.

*I like mine to be really sweet so I use a generous amount of brown sugar. You can use less or more depending on your tastes.

Snapchat-4913107239818819001

Pretty simple right? Sadly, the crepes are a tad more difficult to make. It just takes a little practice. I start off with regular ol’ pancake mix. I prefer Bisquick brand because that’s what my mom always used to make pancakes, but any other will work just fine.

Snapchat-430999560955038339

Pretty much, you follow the directions on the box to make pancakes. I used half the amount of the regular recipe on the Bisquick box since I was only making enough for 2 people (it made about 6 crepes). I also added some extra milk to make the batter thinner which will help in the next step.

Snapchat-5684496287976350024

To make the crepes you pour the pancake batter into a large skillet (on medium heat) that is well greased with whatever product you prefer (butter, coconut oil, non-stick cooking spray, etc.)  and swirl it around to get a thin crepe rather than a thicker pancake.  You have to do this swirling quickly. Like, as soon as you pour it into the pan.  You want it to cover the bottom of the pan evenly. Then after 2-3 minutes (or when the under side starts to get golden in color)  you flip it like you would a normal pancake. After another 2 minutes or so it should be done.

Do this until you’ve used all your batter and remember to re-grease the pan every time otherwise you’ll have a crepe stuck to your pan and that’s no fun (trust me).

Snapchat-5565420791711360748

Finished crepes

To finish up this quick little breakfast you spoon your filling into a crepe and roll it up like a little burrito. I like to drizzle caramel sauce on top but you could sprinkle powdered sugar, use maple syrup, or even use whipped cream on top. That, my friends is how you make apple cinnamon crepes 😊🍏 Bon Appétit

Snapchat-8981589244420233068

I hope this was fairly easy to follow. It was my first time doing a cooking/food blog post. If you would like more recipes (or not) feel free to let me know. Thank you so much.

Much love,

ChristyKeys

Don’t forget to follow me and like this post 💕

 

Leave a Reply

